Brīvības iela, septembris, 2019 Krasta laukums, 2019. gada augusts Tilts, makšķernieki, rudens

Print
Ieteikt Twitter Share Ieteikt Draugiem

Area – 97 km²

Population – 621
Distance from Ogre – 77 km
Largest populated places – Mazozoli, Braki (Līčupe), Vecogre (Ogresmuiža)
 
Mazozoli civil parish is located in the north-eastern part of Ogre municipality. The climate here is cooler and more humid than in the rest of the municipality. There are many rivers in the area. The Ogre River flows along the southern part, its tributary Līčupe flows through the western part. There are many small rivers in the parish, some have interesting cliffs along their banks.  Forests occupy 68% of the territory. The highest point in Ogre municipality – Eglīškalns, (205.6m) is located in the area. Near the small Klāvupīte river can be found the ``devil`s ditch``- a 30m long pile of stones in a deep and forested cove which is interesting in its untouched appearance. 2 km from Mazozoli, we find the huge Lazdiņu rock, which is also known as the ``carriage`` because of an interesting indentation at its centre. The rock is 5.1 m long, 3 m wide and 1.8 m high. It has a circumference of 13.3 metres. The parish is one of the most picturesque in the municipality.
 
The parish used to be known as Ogre civil parish because of the name of the local baronial estate – Ogresmuiža. Information about the location dates back to the 12th and 13th c. During the first Latvian Republic Ogre civil parish was included in Cēsis municipality and after the World War II the territory was changed few times. In 1960 the Mazozoli parish was included in Ogre municipality.
 
The Ogre congregational school was established in the late 18th century. It was located next to the church which was built in 1669 by the order of Swedish King Kārlis XI. The wooden church was later rebuilt into a brick wall church. Between 1870 and 1877 the school had only girls, but time to time some boys also studied there, among them was Rūdolfs Blaumanis, famous Latvian writer. The building was destroyed during World War II. In the late 19th century, a six-grade elementary school was built along the Rīga- Ērgļi road. One of its students was Antons Benjamiņš, who later became known as the ``king of the press`` in Latvia.
 
 
Significant places and sights
 
A unique colony of white storks can be found in the park of the old Ogresmuiža baronial estate. Usually there are around 14 nests every year.
 
The Lazdiņu rock ``Carriage``. The rock has a dint in its centre as if forming the shape of a carriage. It is 5.1 m long, 3 m wide, 1.8 m high and its circumference is 13.3 m.
 
The Ogre castle mound is 60 m long and approximately 10-20 m high, located at the bank of the Ogre River.
 
The Jāņkalniņš is an ancient cult place. At the top of the hill, the ruins of the stone church built in 1789, can be found there.
 
The Devil’s ditch is a 30 m long pile of stones in a deep and forested cove. The legend tells that the devil carried stones in his apron and when the rooster started singing, the stones fell in the river.
 
The Oak tree. It has a circumference of 5.6 m.
 
The Mārkutu rock. There is an unidentified sign ``1021`` engraved into the 1.5 m high rock.
 
The Vedze nature trail is situated on the coasts of the Vedze River. It introduces the peculiar coasts and plants of the river.
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Back
Pieteikšanās Ogres novada iedzīvotāja un skolēna kartes saņemšanaiKlientu apkalpošanas centrs